Reinstatement (Renewal Non-Payment)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​If you do not renew your annual certification by the December 31, 2023 deadline, you are no longer an Active Certificant. The reinstatement process allows you to reinstate your certification status to prevent your certification(s) from being permanently revoked. You have two opportunities to reinstate your certification(s):

 ​​​ 1st Reinstatement Opportunity Final Reinstatement Opportunity
Deadline February 29, 2024 August 1, 2024
Fees Renewal Fee + $150 USD administrative fee Renewal fee + $300 USD reinstatement fee

Please note that different renewal and reinstatement policies apply to December Certificants – those who earn their first certification between December 1 and 31. Click here to view those policies.

You have until February 29, 2024 to pay the annual renewal fee plus a $150 USD administrative fee.  If you miss the February 29 deadline, you have one final opportunity to reinstate by paying the annual renewal fee and $300 USD reinstatement fee by the August 1, 2024 deadline.

Annual renewal fees* are:
$150 for RPVI, RMSK

$95 for RDMS, RDCS, RMSKS, RVT (sonographer-level credentials offered by our companion alliance, ARDMS)

* If you hold both physician-level certifications (RPVI, RMSK, PVI-China) and sonographer-level credentials​ (RDMS, RDCS, RMSKS, RVT), you pay the higher of the two renewal fees.

Note: Renewals are now paperless. APCA no longer accepts mail-in payments for renewal fees. Pay your renewal fee and attest online by logging on to M​Y APCA

Reinstate Your Status Online!

You can quickly and easily reinstate your status by using your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Diners Club, or JCB by logging on to MY APCA.

Please note that we do not accept bill pay checks that are processed through your bank. Bill pay checks are similar to personal checks, as your bank issues a check that is sent through the mail.​

Certificant renewal fees, application fees, dues, contributions or gifts to APCA are not deductible as a charitable contribution for federal income tax purposes. These payments may be deductible as ordinary and necessary business expenses under Section 162 of the Internal Revenue Code. APCA and its umbrella management and governance company, Inteleos, has been organized under Section 501(c)(6) of the IRC. The Inteleos tax identification number is 51-0184277. You may wish to consult your tax advisor for further assistance. ​

If your three-year CME period ends on December 31, 2023, and you pay your renewal and reinstatement fees after the random selection is made in March each year for the CME Audit, you will automatically be selected for the CME Audit. In that case, you must submit copies of a total of 40 APCA-accepted CMEs if your original requirement was 30 CMEs or 80 APCA-accepted CMEs if your original requirement was 60 CMEs. The CMEs must be earned in your three-year CME period up to December 31, 2023.

APCA must receive the required renewal and reinstatement fees and CME documentation by August 1, 2024 to prevent your certification(s) from being permanently revoked. You may choose to send your CME documentation via a trackable form of delivery which enables you to verify receipt.

Refer to for a full list of CME requirements – the type of CMEs required varies depending on the certifications you hold.

CME documentation (certificates) must include the following information (do not send original certificates):

Handwritten entries are acceptable for the following information.

  • Your full name
  • Your APCA Certification number
  • Number of credit hours awarded

Information must be pre-printed; handwritten entries denied for the following information.

  • Title of course or activity
  • Date of course or activity, dated between January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2023*
  • Name of the provider organization and APCA-approved sponsoring organization (visit for the full list of sponsoring organizations).​

*If you earned your first certification in 2020, then you must upload your CME’s into the CME bank of your current required number of ARDMS-accepted CMEs earned anytime between the date you earned your first certification in 2020 and December 31, 2023.